Red Velvet In A Store Southern Style

I can’t believe I found the time to make, document and blog a recipe today.  We were chosen back in April to host a Nerf Super Soaker House Party.  I have applied off and on for various ones over the past couple of years, and this is the first time we were ever picked.  Needless to say I was super excited about this.  My kids are HUGE Nerf fans, and love Super Soaker’s almost as much as a Nerf gun.  When I was deciding what to make for treats for the party, I instantly came to my Pinterest page.  And decided that I could do double duty, make something delicious, AND get a blog post out of it!

Usually when I make brownies, I do the 1 bowl route.  Rich and chocolate-y, no nuts because we aren’t huge fans here.  If I want to make them a little more special, I will add caramel to them.  So when I saw Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies, I knew I had to give them a try!  Red Velvet is one of those things I love, but don’t make very often.  And I am not sure why, its not like they are hard to make.  Maybe its the mess of red food coloring.  Because it gets everywhere! I felt like I was murdering the brownies.  These are totally worth the massacre though.

Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies:

Brownie Layer:

1/2 cup unsalted butter
2-oz dark chocolate, coarsely chopped
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 teaspoon red food coloring
2/3 cup all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350

To start, take the butter and dark chocolate and put in a microwaveable bowl.  Again you could take the double boiler route here, but laziness and I are good friends these days so, into the microwave it went.  I was limited to my chocolate choices today, I guess because Fathers Day is tomorrow?  And people like to make their hubby’s/Dad’s chocolate desserts?  Anyways there was slim pickings.

IMG_3085

It is still Ghiradelli though, so I made do.  Once it has melted completely, stir until smooth and set aside to cool.

IMG_3087

For some reason, I love the way melted chocolate looks.  My adorable helper asked for a taste of the chocolate before I had put it all in the bowl so I gave her a little bit.  Its about 80% cacao so its pretty dark.  Needless to say, she was not impressed.

Now in a large bowl, combine the eggs, 1 cup of sugar, vanilla, and the red food coloring.  I use the Wiltons food coloring.  Its more like a gel so the color is deep and rich.  And if you are using red, it looks a lot like blood.  I think this would be great for a Halloween Party for that very reason!

IMG_3093

Once you have all these together, whisk until smooth and uniform in color.

IMG_3094

Thanks to my lighting, it almost looks neon!  From here, pour in the chocolate butter mixture from earlier.  Make sure its about room temperature though so you don’t cook the eggs.

IMG_3100

I love the way the chocolate and the red look together.  Makes me want to make more red velvet desserts!  I also love that I didn’t have to drag out my Kitchenaid for this.  As much as I love it, sometimes its nice to just be able to mix everything quickly by hand and be done with it.

IMG_3102

Today, I don’t have my usual helpers in kid form.  They are around, but too excited about the Super Soaker party to be much help to me.  So I called in support of a different kind.  The Hubs!  The past posts, I have taken the photos myself since my 9 yr old is still a little shakey, or aiming to the left of where I want him to.  Today Hubs got to play photographer.  I think he did a pretty good job.  So of course I had to get a photo of him.

IMG_3104

I think he is pretty cute too.  And clearly he is eager for the brownies to be made and baked so he can try one out.

Ok, so you have all your wet ingredients mixed together, now add in the flour and salt.  This is one of those things you don’t want to over mix.  Stir until there are no more streaks of flour visible.  It should be fairly thick at this point.  I should have mentioned earlier that this is for a smaller pan.  8 x 8 to be exact.  Grease the pan with butter before you pour in the batter.

IMG_3086

I would say pour in the batter, but its pretty thick so not a lot of pouring going on.  I tried though!

IMG_3111

My photog for the day arranged this shot for me.  Isn’t he handy, its almost like he knows what he is doing.

Now spread the batter around until nice and smooth.

IMG_3114

Now set this aside! You are going to make the cheesecake topping now.  This really is a super easy recipe to throw together.  It looks and tastes like a more time consuming dessert, I promise its not.

Cream Cheese topping:

8-oz cream cheese, room temperature
1/3 cup sugar
1 large egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

So in a separate bowl, place softened cream cheese, sugar, egg and vanilla extract.

IMG_3117

I got out my hand mixer for this part.  Use a fairly high speed to mix this together until it is creamy and very smooth.

IMG_3121

At this point it was still kind of chunky.  To be honest, I didn’t put out the cream cheese soon enough for it to be completely softened by the time I was ready to use it.  Forgetful and lazy today!  If this is the case, just pop it in the microwave for 15 seconds at a time until it is soft enough to mix.  You also want to make sure the sugar is mixed in and well dissolved so its not grainy at all.  Cheesecake, whether it is actual cheesecake, or on something like a brownie, should be smooth, creamy and grain free.

From here, take a spoon and plop it on top of the brownie batter in the pan.

IMG_3122

The original recipe stated 8 “plops”, but I ended up using more.  Maybe mine weren’t big enough to begin with?  Everyone plops differently so no biggie!

IMG_3123

Now you are going to take a knife, see I already have one ready above the pan!  Anyway, take the knife and draw it through the cheesecake and batter to swirl it back and forth.

IMG_3124

Now pop it into the oven for 35-40 min.  Ok, I have to step in here and note that this took WAY longer to bake.  I preheated my oven to 350, and have never had any issues before with something not baking as quickly in my oven as directions stated.  I know some ovens can run hotter then others.  This has never been the case.  So at 35 min, I took it out to cool.  The directions had stated it would be slightly golden around the edges. It was!  But when I went to stick a toothpick in the center to make certain, I discovered it was no where near done.  So back into the oven it went.  I want to say altogether, this was in the oven for an hour and 20 min!!  That seems a little long to me for an 8 x 8 pan.  But finally it was done!

IMG_3137

I have to say, this was a HIT!  So yummy.  It was the perfect Red Velvet Brownie, and the cheesecake complimented it brilliantly.  I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe.  If you are looking for a slightly different brownie recipe, this is a good one to try.  I know not everyone likes Red Velvet, but give it a go anyways!

I found this pin at this blog http://sweetpeaskitchen.com/2011/02/red-velvet-cheesecake-brownies/  I got quite a few from here in the beginning.  She has some great recipes!

How do you feel about Red Velvet? Like it or Hate it?

Let me know in the comments!

Love,

your Bestie Baker

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

